Florida Distracted Driving Facts

Florida Distracted Driving Facts

Distracted driving is very risky. Regardless of the government efforts to stop the risks of accidents, distracted driving is still common.

As a matter of fact, around 92% of car accidents involve human error. Worse than that, each day, eight individuals involved in accidents die.

But is distracted driving a problem in Florida?

Unfortunately, it is. Florida is the second-worst state involved in distracted driving accidents. Recently, there have been more than 48,000 distracted driving fatalities in the state.

Common Distractions of Driving

When driving, many components will be competing for your attention. It is vital to be familiar with the common distractions you may encounter while driving so you can find a way to ignore them. Some of these distractions include:

  • Smoking, eating and drinking
  • Making and receiving a phone call
  • Texting
  • Driving with pets
  • Fiddling with GPS, playlist or climate control

Distracted Driving Prevalence

Regardless of the risks distracted driving presents, it is basically a widespread occurrence. In a study that EverQuote carried out, online insurance marketplaces show that around 90% of drivers take calls and text while driving. This is worrisome since distracted drivers are likely to get involved in a car accident.

Distracted Driving Consequences

Texting when driving is regarded as a moving traffic violation. Although calling and receiving calls while driving is regarded as a secondary offense in Florida, the state regards financial penalties as the reasonable consequence for distracted driving.

Penalties may range from $30 to $ 100, based on the seriousness of the offense. Additional penalties for distracted driving may include:

  • Car impoundment
  • Three points on the driving record
  • Renovation of all driving privileges
  • Suspension of a driver’s license

Insurance Rates and Distracted Driving

A first crime will not likely affect the insurance range since it’s not regarded as a moving violation, and points would be assessed against driving records. Though if you get cited for this offense a second time within four or five years, you may have a moving violation and points on your driving record.

This might also increase the insurance rates. In addition, a distracted driving citation may make you lose your driver discount as a good driver and make the rise in premiums more painful.

Measures against the Distracted Driving

Florida already enacted distracted driving law so as to minimize accidents. However, it is not as strict as that of other states. In fact, distracted driving is regarded as a secondary offense. This means a cop cannot ask drivers to pull over unless they have committed a more serious crime.

Meanwhile, it is legal to make and receive phone calls while driving. Opponents for making this offense primary say that it is too much government intrusion. However, the Department of Transportation in Florida is trying to decrease the number of accidents by:

  • Supporting stricter legislations
  • Increasing awareness among the public
  • Supporting restrictions of Graduated Driver’s License for teen drivers
  • Launching enforcement campaigns

Final Thoughts!

Sustaining injuries after getting involved in a car accident because of a distracted driver can be a devastating event.

Having no idea who to turn to may make it stressful, especially when nursing severe injuries. In this case, consulting a personal injury attorney for advice is the best course of action.